NEW YORK, October 18, 2016- The annual Head Of The Charles Regatta® in Boston is almost here and once again BNY Mellon is the presenting sponsor of this iconic Boston rowing event. In addition to its support of the regatta, scheduled for Oct. 22 and 23, BNY Mellon is also a Gold Medal Sponsor of USRowing and the U.S. Olympic teams that competed in Rio this past summer. Read more here.

“Rowing is about teamwork, drive, excellence and delivering world class performance. So as the investments company for the world, we see this partnership with the Regatta, as well as with USRowing and the Oxford and Cambridge Boat Races, as a perfect fit for us,” said Mitchell Harris, CEO of BNY Mellon Investment Management. “Boston also is the home to about 4,000 BNY Mellon employees, many of them in our wealth management business as well as boutique investment companies such as Standish, The Boston Company and Eagle Investment Systems.”

“BNY Mellon prizes the commitment and collaboration that these terrific athletes epitomize,” said Don Heberle, the CEO of BNY Mellon Wealth Management. “We’re delighted to be supporting this Boston event where so many of our wealth management employees and clients live and work.”

As presenting sponsors of the Regatta, we will again award the BNY Mellon Championship Cup to top collegiate competitors in the Men’s and Women’s Regatta Championship Eights. Handing out the trophies will be BNY Mellon Wealth Management CEO Don Heberle and New England Regional President Vicary Graham. Last year the University of California-Berkeley women’s team and the Yale University men’s team were the BNY Mellon Championship winners.

BNY Mellon employees are also competing in the HOCR this year.  For a second year the company has entered a Men’s Club Eights team. And for the first time a Women’s Club Four crew is competing as well. The teams include employees from across the company and several geographic locations. BNY Mellon’s men’s team include: Connor Oakley, Tom Whateley, Steve Dudek, Nate Hyde, Simon Rasin, Code Sternal, Cory Hatton, Eoin McDonald and John Lesko. The Women’s Four: Jessica Shuman, Claire Pywell, Ailsa Kegler, and Lottie Meggitt. Both crews are scheduled to compete on Saturday afternoon.

Event organizers, competitors and spectators are hoping for good weather again this year.